Selangor aim to regain glory days

It has been five years since Selangor last tasted glory in domestic competitions.

Their 2015 Malaysia Cup victory, under coach Mehmet Durakovic, was the last time the Red Giants were on the podium and have since failed to challenge for honours.

However, Selangor hope to end their drought when the Malaysia Cup, which they have won 33 times, starts on Nov 6.

The Malaysia Cup will offer an added incentive to the 16 qualifiers as the champions will earn an AFC Cup ticket.

The Red Giants have not played in Asian-level club competitions since their 2016 AFC Cup outing, which they failed to go beyond the group stage.

Selangor, this season, had mixed results in the Super League and were forced to sack coach B. Satiananthan with three matches left to play.

But under caretaker coach Michael Feichtenbeiner, Selangor showed glimpses of their former self.

The team drew 3-3 with UiTM FC before thrashing Police (7-0) and Felda United (6-1) in their last three matches to end their league campaign with 17 points.

FA of Selangor (FAS) secretary-general Dr Johan Kamal Hamidon said: “We are taking the Malaysia Cup seriously. The players have been training since Tuesday, and we are planning to organise a camp soon outside the Klang Valley due to the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO).

“We want to get good results in the tournament as it offers an AFC Cup slot to the champions.

“Yes, we want to become champions and earn an AFC Cup ticket,” he said.

Selangor definitely have the players who can bring glory to the club if they give their 100 per cent commitment.

The Malaysia Cup is also a test for the players to impress Feichtenbeiner and earn contract extensions for next season.

“Feichtenbeiner wants to see how his boys do against bigger clubs in the competition.

“The German has introduced a new style of play, and the players are slowly adapting to his system.

“However, he wants to see whether they can fit into his style for the new season,” Johan added.

The current foreign signings are captain Taylor Regan, striker Rufino Segovia, forward Sandro Mendonca, midfielder Safuwan Baharudin and this season’s Golden Boot winner Ifedayo Olusegun of Nigeria.

WhatsApp chat