Three SEA squads to battle it out with local players in 10th MCKK Premier 7s

THE 10th edition of The Malay College Kuala Kangsar (MCKK) Premier 7s Rugby Tournament promises to be an explosive event as top rugby-playing schools and three teams from South-East Asia set to battle for the coveted NJ Ryan Trophy.

This year’s edition, which will kick off on Feb 28 with each category finals scheduled for March 1, has seen growing interest over the years from local schools and schools in South-East Asia.

The tournament will again feature 24 teams comprising 21 local premier rugby schools drawn from Malaysia and the three foreign teams.

Malaysian Rugby Union (MRU) president Datuk Shahrul Zaman Yahya, who attended the launch, praised the tournament organisers, known as one of the best platforms for scouting junior rugby talent in the country, particularly for the 7s version of the game.

Shahrul said the tournament had a long history of producing rugby players who went on to represent Malaysia on the international stage at both the youth and senior levels.

“Competitions like the MCKK Premier 7s is seen as one of the more important platforms to ensure young talented players get the right coaching during their school years,” added Shahrul.

Shahrul also mentioned that the three South-East Asian teams would give rugby fans something special to look forward to.

“This proves that the development of Malaysian rugby is headed in the right direction.

“We hope the young talented players who emerge from this edition will go on to make our country proud,” he said.

WhatsApp chat